ENPO reiterates its “Frontier Nagaland” state demand

The Eastern Nagaland Peoples Organization (ENPO) on Wednesday reiterated its separate statehood demand and said that the organization would continue to aspire and demand for a ‘Frontier Nagaland State” to be carved out of the present Nagaland state.

ENPO’s demand for a separate state comprises of the four underdeveloped eastern Nagaland districts of Mon, Tuensang, Kiphire, and Longleng and accounts for 20 seats in the 60-member Assembly. Six tribes including Konyaks, Phoms, Changs, Khiamniungans, Yimchungrus and Sangtams are inhabitants of these areas.

The demand for a new state in the eastern Nagaland resurfaced in the months leading to the state Assembly election this year. Leaders of the statehood movement have even threatened to boycott the election if the central government does not engage with them in consideration of their statehood demand.

A press release from the organization’s media cell has stated that the resolution to this effect was taken during the special general session cum felicitation program in honour of the 20 elected members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly on June 12 at Town Hall, Tuensang.  The ENPO, which is spearheading the statehood movement, also passed a resolution on December 22 last year promising to intensify the agitation in the run-up to the Assembly election in February.

The ENPO press release also said that the public of Eastern Nagaland would continue to firmly reject any form of economic package both by the centre and the state until the demand for separate assembly or a separate administration with a capital of its own is achieved.

The organization unanimously reaffirmed the December 18, 2007 Tuensang Summit resolution that advocated that there should be no bloodshed, threat, intimidation or any form of violence within Eastern Nagaland jurisdiction.


Shyamal Bikash Chakma

Shyamal Bikash Chakma is Public Editor of The aPolitical and a PhD candidate in Development Studies at School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London and recipient of the Felix Scholarship 2017.
Share the story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *