Election Commission announces poll dates for Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland

The Election Commission of India today announced the dates of the Assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland.

Briefing the media today in Delhi, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti said the elections will be held in two rounds. In the first round, Tripura will go to polls on 18 February (Sunday). In the second round, elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland will take place on 27 February (Tuesday).

Counting of votes will take on 3 March 2018 (Saturday) for all the three states.

Model Code of Conduct comes into effect from today.

The Assembly terms of Meghalaya, Nagaland, and Tripura end on 6 March, 13 March and 14 March 2018 respectively.

The strength of the three Houses is 60 members each.

Along with Electronic Voting Machines, Voter-verified paper audit trail (VVPAT) will be used in all three states, the Commission has said.

Share the story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *