Karnataka: BJP leader B.S Yeddyurappa takes oath as Chief Minister as SC declines Congress’ demand

Leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Karnataka, B S Yeddyurappa has taken oath as the 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka on Thursday, a day after the Governor Valubhai Vala invited the BJP to form government in the state.

The Governor has asked Yeddyurappa to prove its majority in the house within 15 days.

This is the third time BS Yeddyurappa has become Karnataka’s chief minister. His first term was from 12 November 2007 to 19 November 2007, while the second stint was from 30 May 2008 to 31 July 2011.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party in the recently held Assembly elections securing 104 seats in the 224-member House but fell short of majority by 8 seats.

As the votes were being counted, the Congress declared its unconditional support for the JD(S) and accepted JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy as Chief Minister, in a bid to keep the BJP out of power. While the Congress won 78 seats, the JD(S) came third with 37 seats. Both BS Yeddyurappa and  HD Kumaraswamy together with Congress leaders had met the Governor to stake claim to form the next government.

The Congress-JD(S) alliance has cried foul over the Governor’s decision to invite the BJP. In a dramatic move, Congress’s Abhishek Manu Singhvi approached the Supreme Court late on Wednesday night, seeking a stay on the swearing-in of the Chief Minister but the SC declined to stay BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in. The Supreme Court stated that it can’t overturn the decision of the Governor without seeing on what basis the BJP had claimed to have the numbers.

The apex court has posted the matter for hearing on Friday.The court has asked that the letter given by Yeddyurappa and senior BJP leaders to the Governor in which it was stated that the party has the requisite number of MLAs to form the government be produced before the court.

Share the story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *