Mizoram gets its second woman minister in history

Mizoram got its second woman minister in history yesterday with the induction of Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu as Minister of State in the Lal Thanhawla government after a gap of nearly 30 years. The first woman to hold a ministerial post was Lalhlimpuii Hmar in 1987.

Chawngthu is the lone woman MLA in the 40-seat Assembly in Mizoram currently. She was sworn in as MoS by Governor Lt Gen (Retd) Nirbhay Sharma during an oath-taking ceremony at Raj Bhawan in Aizawl on Friday.

Chawngkunga, who is the president of the Mizoram Pradesh Youth Congress Committee, was elected from Hrangturzo seat in Serchhip district in a by-election in May 2014.

Earlier on 20 September, Aizawl south III assembly constituency MLA KS Thanga was sworn in as a minister in the Congress government. Thanga and Chawngthu are likely to get portfolios next Monday.

They were inducted in the Council of Ministers after the resignations of Labour Minister Lalrinmawia Ralte and Fisheries Minister Buddha Dhan Chakma.

Share the story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *